Who’s strong enough?

I found myself at the end of a long, very stressful day, and because I like to color I sat down and began to color in one of my daughter’s coloring books. Simply trying to wash the day away along with the white on the pages. Halfway through my scribbles, the crayon broke in half. The sound snapped me out of my attempt at relaxation. I have several quirks, one of my big ones is I cannot stand using broken crayons. Like they immediately go in the trashcan; I cannot stand it. I cursed the crayon for breaking and went to place it in the trash, but immediately stopped and thought of the phrase “God doesn’t give you more than you can handle”. Seems so silly since we are only talking about a busted crayon. I thought about how often I feel like that broken crayon. I sat down and tried to color with it. I couldn’t do it, I threw it away and picked a different color.

But it really got me thinking.

“God doesn’t give you more than you can handle.”

How many times have you been told this in the midst of a crisis? Loss of a family member, tough economy, any number of things that can throw someone into crisis mode. How many times have you said it to someone else in an attempt to comfort them? As a parent of a special little boy who spends quite a bit of time sick, in and out of the hospital, I hear it quite a bit. And each time I hear it I want to stand up and scream to the high heavens that it’s just simply NOT TRUE! Nowhere in the Bible does it state that God won’t give us more than we can handle. Ask Job. I felt like Job that day they sat us down and told us our son wasn’t going to live more than a week. The moment that you crumble and tell God you are done. You cannot possibly be expected to stand up and walk away from this one.

And that’s the glory of it. You cannot possibly get up and walk away from that one moment – BUT YOU DO! Because God DOES say that HE will carry you.

God doesn’t give you anything HE can’t handle!! Doesn’t that make more sense? There is far more HOPE and FAITH in knowing that God can handle anything that is thrown at you, especially when there is no chance you could handle it yourself. Countless times in the Bible we are told of how God can hold you, heal you, lift you, provide for you, love you – give you strength.

Philippians 4:13 – I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Isaiah 40:29 – He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.

Ephesians 6:10 – Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.

2 Corinthians 12:9 – But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore, I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

And one of my personal favorites:

Isaiah 40:31 – but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

The list of verses goes on and on and on. Time and time again God says you are not alone, you don’t have to “handle” it. God doesn’t give you anything that HE cannot handle. Sometimes it might look like the world is ending; that you just can’t take it; there is no way you can walk out of this moment. But maybe God is just using this as a way to show you that you need to use a different color.

Published by Michelle Estrada

Leave a Reply

