Walking with God in the Garden

There is so much to do in the garden. One of those tedious elements of gardening is the weeding. Pulling weeds and planting seeds is truly the story of a gardener’s life as well as the story of life itself.

garden1

When I am weeding in the garden I am really in the moment, thinking about scripture. So much of gardening is done on your knees. It is a real humbling experience. I find myself praying and having a conversation with God. It brings me to remembering my mother singing one of her favorite songs, “He Walks With Me,” by Merle Haggard.

I come to the garden alone
While the dew is still on roses
And the voice I hear falling
On my ear the son of God discloses

And He walks with me and He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own
And the joy we share as we tarry there
None other has ever known

He speaks and the sound of His voice
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing

And He walks with me and He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own
And the joy we share as we tarry there
None other has ever known

1 Thessalonians 5:17, pray without ceasing, reminds us that we should pray constantly. In the garden, we can a conversation with God.

In Matthew 13:23, Jesus says your heart is like soil; if you plant the right seeds, you will bring forth good fruit. “But as for what was sown on good soil, this is the person who hears the word, understands it, and produces a crop that yields 100, 60, or 30 times what was sown.”

garden 3

I encourage you to spend time with God in our Community Garden and let the seeds of joy take root in your fellowship with Him.

Published by Anna Victoria Rodriguez

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

