Blessings for 2016

As we embark on this new year of 2016, I’m sure most of us are already busy planning ahead, trying to stay on top of our new year’s resolutions, or maybe anticipating something big such as a wedding, or a new baby. Each year we’re filled with hopes, dreams and aspirations of a new and a fresh start. Whatever 2016 might bring, it’s an ideal time to take a moment, evaluate your life, and ask God for guidance and direction for this new year.

At this time last year, I had just started my life as a newlywed. My husband and I were actively involved at Life Point, making new friends, spending time with our families and having many nights to ponder about our future together. Little did we know, 2015 would throw some big challenges at us, ones that would rock our faith to it’s core. Instead of skipping down Lovers Lane each month, my husband, myself and our families were faced with challenges including cancer, death, miscarriage, bad addictions, divorce, moving, amongst other petty life mishaps that can all add up into one big snowball of sorrow. It was rough, and I remember many nights just crying and asking God, WHY? I thought I had been faithful, and I couldn’t understand why these terrible things were happening in our lives. Somedays, I doubted God.

But on the days where I doubted my faith the most, God would show me something to let me know He was still there. Whether it was a simple verse popping up on my phone, or a small hug and words of encouragement from a good friend, He always knew what I needed most. His love for me was never failing – no matter how mad I was at Him. All year long, He never ceased to amaze me. All those times the enemy tried to bring me down, God was stronger, He was my ultimate Savior.

We don’t know what this new year holds, but God does. He always knows the direction of our lives and what struggles and triumphs He has planned for us. It is important to keep our hearts open and our minds focused on Him in all that we do, day in and day out. And when the tough times come along, no matter how tough they are, He will be there to walk alongside you. Take a moment today to thank God for this wonderful new year and ask Him to be with you through all your days – no matter if they’re good or bad.  Ask for guidance and His direction for your life this year. Remind yourself that God is GOOD all the time.

Published by Lexi Ellis

Photo from ldrmagazine.com

Leave a comment