We are Called to Serve

I moved out of my the home I shared with my children and their father on May 13, 2002. Victoria and I set out on our own, leaving their dad and my son Anthony behind. This was the hardest decision I have made in my life. My oldest daughter Vanessa, was living on her own. For three and a half years I began to live in a way that was new to me; discovering me, my children, my needs, their needs. It was as though I was rewinding, re-configuring, rejuvenating my soul. Who I had become and my longing to know who I really was had become fascinating and necessary for me to process during this period of time. After a lot of counseling and prayer; I was divorced on December 14, 2005 after 27 years of marriage.

After some time, I realized that my story and my experience as a battered and abused woman who faced a lifetime of recovery and healing, could still help others. I have been active in counseling other women who have suffered or are suffering in an abusive relationship.

Life Point Church

On Saturday March 15, 2008 I re-married my middle school/high school sweetheart, Daniel.

The father of my children passed away on a Friday, August 21,2009. The baggage I had not addressed hung on to me like a heavy weight, it clouded my reality as I shuffled and stuffed my past around. I realized that everything was for a reason; Jesus was real and he carried me through the times I could not handle on my own.

The bible never says that we will not go through hard times or that we will not suffer. We will suffer and go through hard times, and it is the Lord that will get us through these times. I can’t imagine what my life would have been like to have endured my pain and suffering without knowing the Lord Jesus Christ as my Savior.

The first time Dan and I visited Life Point Church in 2012; the message was on “baggage.” It was the perfect message for where I was still in my life. We did not just stumble upon this church; we were led by the Holy Spirit. We love our Pastor, Danny Rivers. He is the real deal; I love that he is prepared and equipped with the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

We believe that Life Point Stands! In Luke 21:36 “Be always on the watch, and pray that you will be able to escape all that is about to happen, and that you may be able to stand before the Son of Man.”

I am blessed to have had the privilege of leading a life group at Life Point for three seasons and have been able to use my gift of gardening by starting and being the lead on our future Community Garden. My husband Daniel and I are part of the Dream Team and serve with parking and greeting and working guest services. I am also part of the Media Team.

God calls us to a service far beyond anything you or I can ever imagine; we were put here on Earth to make a contribution to His Kingdom. (Ephesians 2:10) “It is God himself who has made us what we are and has given us new lives in helping others.” We thank Life Point church, for giving us the opportunity to serve as He has called us to do.

Published by Anna V. Rodriguez

 

 

Leave a Reply

