Gardening This Good Earth

A little about me:

I lived in El Indio, Texas and traveled in the womb of my mother with my twin sister to be born in Eagle Pass, Texas a long, long time ago. We grew up on a small farm where my dad grew corn and other vegetables. My dad was a school principal in Eagle Pass and drove the locals from El Indio to get their education in the larger town of Eagle Pass; which has thus changed quite a bit from when I grew up in the area. As a child I have memories of the corn fields, chickens, goats, calves, pigs and our dog Moe. I can remember seeing the rain come across like a sheet through the fields of corn and I would wait until it reached me. Sometimes I thought that I could beat the rain and ran ahead of it, as I smelled the rain coming up from behind me. These were good memories as a very young child.

I think because gardening was such a big part of my life growing up that it stuck with me and I longed to have my own garden. I got this opportunity in the back yard of my house in Westover Hills when I moved in 2005. I always tell people, you don’t need a huge lot to have a productive garden.

My small yard has been growing vegetables since 2006 where we rotate growing tomatoes, cucumbers, corn, squash, zucchini, green beans, peppers of all kinds; my husband even planted and was successful growing okra one year. We had watermelon and cantaloupes that started as plants out of our compost and practically took over the entire yard killing some of the grass because the watermelons were so heavy. We let them have their way and it gave us pleasure in seeing how big they could grow and how tasty everything was coming from our garden!

For me, gardening has become a constant reminder of divine provision. In one of David’s songs of praise, he makes plain that everything we have is the Lord’s: “You care for the land and water it, you enrich it abundantly; the streams of God are filled with water to provide the people with grain, for so you have ordained it.” (Ps. 65:9 NIV).

IMG_49401

I believe in organic and good clean produce. I promote it in my neighborhood and welcome neighbors to learn how they too could grow vegetables in their yards.

What an opportunity we have at Life Point SA! Fun things are going to happen and I can guarantee that it will be a success but it is going to take a commitment and a lot of hard work! Are you interested in “gardening” as part of your ministry?  Please let us know if you are interested in participating in making garden art, collecting rocks to make a path way and learning to make simple dishes from garden to table. These are just a few things we will be doing; yes, we will be cooking….

IMG_49391 IMG_49371 IMG_49361

Our pumpkin patch shows promise for an early November bumper crop; we may have some smaller pumpkins for a pumpkin patch display in front of our 1560 property. If you are interested in helping with the garden please reach out to me via guest services!

Published by: Anna V. Rodriguez

Leave a Reply

